Learning a language is like opening a floodgate of understanding and love.

by eddiehopper

10/3/2016
An excerpt from a letter Eddie wrote to me (Cindy), used with his permission:
it’s been an incredible blessing being able to learn spanish. at first, i think i had a vague love for these people and a desire to help them, perhaps because I felt bad for their situation or I looked down on them. i knew the gospel was the key, but communicating was frustrating. I wanted to embrace people and express my love for them, but I couldn’t at first! but learning a language is literally like opening a floodgate of understanding and love. with every new spanish principle I learn, or every new slang word or idiom, i feel myself connecting more and more with this people. where once i loved latin people, I now love each person I meet as a person. that’s been an amazing benefit in the mission.

