Well, my day starts at 6:30 am, when we’re obligated to wake up and walk around the house aimlessly to avoid falling asleep again

by eddiehopper

(This is a screen shot of our Mother’s Day call with Eddie–don’t you love his smile?)

5:10:16 Mom's Day CallSemana del 9 de Mayo de 2016

Well as I’m running out of things to add to my blog, I’ve decided to start answering some “discussion questions” to give y’all a better idea of what it is I’m doing out here in el desierto de aflicciòn. I’ll start this week by answering 4 questions:

Describe what your daily schedule like. Well . I usually try to get a little exercise in, although the lack of a gym or similar facility during the mission is one of the biggest sacrifices for me. A light breakfast, a cold shower, and we’re studying by 8:00. Right now, I’m in Doctrine and Covenants, but I also try to focus several minutes of each study on Preach My Gospel and scripture memorization. Recently, we were invited to read the Book of Mormon in 8 weeks as well, so we’ll see how I fit that into what little reading time we have as it is. At 9:00, we’re supposed to start companionship study, and then we get an hour to study language, so we’re out in the streets by 11:00. At 2:00 pm, we eat with members (la comida is the largest meal of the day here). After a big meal, we’re out to work again ’til 9 or 9:30 pm. We return home, plan, do other things, and try to be in bed by 10:30.
Describe the area where you live, eat, sleep, study… The house where we’re living right now is pretty ugly, but it’s a nice location, right in the center of our area, near a big roundabout. There are 2 bedrooms, a kitchen, and a main room. That’s how mexican infonavit houses are built. My bed looks more like a hammock due to the curvature of the mattress. I usually eat at my study desk, or just standing up (I know I know it’s a bad habit). Well I study in a desk, seated in a chair.
Describe the foods that you eat. What do you eat at each meal? How is it prepared? Etc. Surprisingly, the food depends a lot on the city in which I live, and even parts of the city. Right now, we eat lots of guisos, picadillo and papas, bland maseca tortillas, sopas con pasta de fideo etc. The tortilla is a Mexican staple. They can’t eat without them, and tend to use tortillas to pick up food more than utensils. Sometimes the members like to go “American” and give us white bread to pick up our food. We’re lucky when we’re served fresh tortillas de harina (flour). That’s a northern delicacy, and a simple recipe. Other Mexican classics: posole, carne asada, enchiladas o tacos de pollo, huevos y chorizo, frijoles y arroz (how could I forget?), mole (the poblanos like to remind us how much better the mole is in their house), pollo asado, some kind of “water” that consists of a blended fruit, sugar, and pure water. I love the food here, but I’ve been trying to go easy on the flour and sugar these days.
Describe grocery shopping. What is shopping like? How is it different from shopping at home? What sort of things do you buy when you go shopping? It’s about the same, except you have to tip the old men that help bag your food here. And you can’t bring bags into the stores, as there’s a lot of mistrust for the consumer here. And we usually take a taxi to and from the grocery store. The taxi is the preferred method of transport in Mexico. I recently read a statistic that said that Mexico City boasted having the highest number of registered taxistas in the world, as well as a great percentage of the cars on the streets.

That’s about it!

Love you!!

Eddie

