We can always rely on the Grace of the Lord

by eddiehopper

Semana del 28 de diciembre de 2015


Semana del 28 de diciembre de 2015

Well not too much to report this week. I really enjoyed the skype conversation with the family on the 24th! Christmas Eve (la noche buena here) and Christmas Day were really good. Really relaxing and at the end of it all I realized we didn’t get much work done, which caused me a bit of stress. I’m learning more and more every day here in this area. The words of Elder Muñiz, president’s assistant in the past, always ring in my ears, that we can always rely on the Grace of the Lord, and that we should especially rely on it during the first half of the mission (the first year). Now we’re about to find out if it’s true what people say about the second year–that it’s a downhill ride to freedom haha. Well I still have 3 months before I complete a year but I like to think it’s close. As for New Year’s, they’re allowing us to stay out til 10:30, provided that we make our way to the house with caution. I think we’re gonna spend the evening with a family and make some carne asadas and salchichas. Oh! on Christmas Eve we ate turkey and green spaghetti and mashed potatoes! Delicioso por cierto.

So I talked to an American this past week! We dared ourselves to do some contacting in one of the nicest neighborhoods in our area while a member accompanied us and we decided to approach a certain house where a man was taking out some things from the back of his mini-van. As we got closer, my comp turned to me and said “es uno de sus compatriotas! Háblele en inglés!” I didn’t trust him so I started in Spanish but when he turned around it was obvious. So we started talking in English but I didn’t realize it would be so hard to find English words to say about the church! turns out he was a very strong Catholic and already knew a lot about our church. He was from San Angelo, Texas and was visiting the Mexican in-laws for Christmas lol.

That’s about it! Hasta luego!

Eddie

