Not too much has happened this week, besides my companion getting hit by a car.

by eddiehopper

Semana de 3 Agosto 2015

Well we finished this transfer off with a really enjoyable week. My companion, Elder Rose, and I are sad to be parting, as we had some good times together. He really taught me a lot and I’m a little anxious to work with another elder. It’s also gonna be sad to say goodbye to Elder Chavez and our trio. I think I’m going with someone named Elder Peguero (Pegüero?); I’ll let y’all know how it goes with him! Maybe I’ll get to practice my Spanish outside of lessons now!

Not too much has happened this week, besides that my comp (Chavez) got hit by a car. The car was going a whopping 0 km per hour, and what’s even crazier, there was no one even driving it. I think he’ll be alright though, although he may have suffered from serious embarrassment. 8:15 mission trio

So I’ve been thinking quite a bit about what my purpose as a missionary truly is (don’t worry, I’m not gonna go apostate) and sometimes I have doubts about if what I’m doing here is really helping. Like I see people all day every day that are in serious need of medical or financial help and all I tell them is that they can be blessed by following the precepts of the gospel of Jesus Christ. But how is that literally true? I mean following Christ won’t heal someone’s leg that got kicked by a donkey or save someone from insanity will it? Maybe it will. Anyways all this was on the back of my mind on Saturday. We already had a lesson with someone whom I didn’t have the wherewithal to help and that kind of discouraged me. But we pressed forward. At the end of the day I decided we should try to knock on this one little green house and we started teaching 2 campesinos. It went well but they showed little promise of progress, as they were only in Saltillo for a visit and usually live in a rancho about an hour away. Anyways, Sunday came and we were sitting in a meeting before church and decided to pass by that little green house to see if we could bring them to the service. When we got to the house, we were redirected by their sister to another house where they might be. So we went to the second house and met the poorer of the two señores we had taught the night before. He agreed to come to church with us and we hopped in a taxi and had a pretty little fast and testimony meeting with him. The man had an awful limp and it took him 20 minutes to get from meeting to meeting thanks to his inflamed ankle. Anyways long story short, at the end of church, he kept telling me, “I’ve never been to a church like this, I’ve never been to a church like this.” And he had the biggest smile on his face. He said everyone was super friendly and that he met many new friends. Apparently one sister had offered to treat his foot, which is in serious need of some attention. He’s probably back at his rancho right now, but I hope we impacted his life for good by bringing him to church. I realized in that moment that this is what the gospel offers us: fellowship! It brings people such joy to interact with fellow members and be strengthened by them. Anyways I have to go now but I hope my little story can inspire someone else who is doubting the efficacy of a proselyting mission! God bless you all! More news next week! Much love,

Eddie

