Poco a poco, I’m learning to keep my head in the game.

by eddiehopper

Week of 15 June 2015Featured image

How’s everyone doing?? I’m still doing well here. I love the work so much, but I’m still missing home so much too. Sometimes it’s hard to concentrate when everyone is speaking Spanish and I’m just thinking about what I’m gonna do after the mission, but poco a poco, I’m learning how to keep my head in the game. I can sit through a church meeting and understand exactly what the speaker is saying, and I can even understand lots of conversations, but when someone turns their head to me and asks a simple questions, I’m like a deer in the headlights. And if I miss just a single word in someone’s sentence, it throws me off for the rest of what they had to say. I don’t know. I feel better every week though.

So much happens every day here! Like today we were in the city center mailing some things and on our way out we ran into a guy from Texas who spoke perfect English (quite surprising). He asked if we were “preachin’ the word.” We said yes, and so he went on to describe how religion brainwashes everyone and really God is just one of many aliens and we’re also just gods that don’t realize it yet. And he said the Bible talks about a race of gods called the Ananaki (does someone want to email me about their insight on this?), and that Jesus is one of them or something. And he knows all this because aliens have told him. It was interesting. Sorry that’s the only story I can think of right now, but one thing I’ve learned on the mission is that no day is ever the same.

We’ve had a couple of really successful and gratifying weeks in a row now. It’s great to see the fruits of our efforts in this area. I had my first baptism on Saturday! which marks the first baptism of this area. I’m still waiting for the day when I get to do the ordinance myself though. My comp said this has been his most successful area yet, as far as numbers are concerned. It’s gonna be a hard mission comparing how well I’ve done here with how well I’ll probably do for the next 22 months.

Right now I’m just trying to mentally prepare myself for the Canicula, which is like the 40 hottest days of the year or something. That’s about it.

If you haven’t yet, you should write to me! Just say hello haha. And I may get to your email a couple weeks late, but I promise I’ll get to it. K I love you all! ¡Chao!

Eddie

