I really like the people and the fried chicken

by eddiehopper

Week of 25th May, 2015
Featured image
My 2nd week in the field is now over! I don’t know if I’ve ever walked so much in my life, but other than that, it’s been good. I don’t remember if I mentioned this last week, but we opened our area and are still having trouble contacting previous investigators and finding new ones, so we’ve really been doing a lot of contacting these past couple weeks, which is great Spanish practice. One of the challanges is that the people are never home because they work like, well, Mexicans.

I am starting to acclimate to Mexico. I really like the people. They’re friendly and welcoming and very talkative, which reminds of the Southerners. Oh and they also eat lots of fried chicken here. Speaking of food, us elders are actually fed really well. The hermanas in the ward do everything they can to make sure we have enough to eat. My favorite here is still the carne asada, but yesterday we had a picnic with the stake president’s family and they served tostadas with mayonnaise and guacamole and this camaron salad. I had at least 9.

Saltillo is situated in a very mountainous area and, if you squint so you don’t see all the trash, it’s really pretty. It reminds me a lot of Utah. It’s rained literally every day here, which is kind of strange for a desert. Let’s see what else…the houses here remind me of a Dr. Suess houses, how they’re all colorful stucco and precariously built on hillsides and incompletely built.

I don’t have much to say this week. I miss you all and hope things are going well at home. I really miss home but look forward to 22 or so more months here. See you later!

Much love, ciao,

Eddie

ps Hey I don’t have time to send pics this week but I have some good ones. The house we’re living in is really interesting. It’s actually big and it must have been an abuelita`s house before ours. Its burnt orange-ish and has some weird decorations like a strange little villa. There’s a huge stuffed rattlesnake! And we have a big patio area out front with cool plants that you’d enjoy, including an orange tree! The oranges are super juicy and fresh. Over all, I’m pretty lucky to be living here, considering the others places missionaries live.

